Update: UltraVNC 1.4.3.6 and UltraVNC SC 1.4.3.6: https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37885
Important: Please update to latest version before to create a reply, a topic or an issue: https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37864

Join us on social networks and share our announcements:
- Website: https://uvnc.com/
- GitHub: https://github.com/ultravnc
- Mastodon: https://mastodon.social/@ultravnc
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ultravnc1
- X/Twitter: https://x.com/ultravnc1
- Reddit community: https://www.reddit.com/r/ultravnc
- OpenHub: https://openhub.net/p/ultravnc

Set DSMPlugin in source code

Post Reply
A|ex
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-02-07 15:21

Set DSMPlugin in source code

Post by A|ex »

Does anyone know how you specify a DSMPlugin and key in the source code before compilation? I am not sure if the dsmplugin parameters are passed via variables or whether they are coded directly into a function. i found some code in clientconnection.cpp but there was a comment which said 'hack and unsafe'. and commented out.

Has anyone ever done this so the viewer uses the dsm plugin by default and key.
UltraSam
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
Posts: 462
Joined: 2004-04-26 20:55
Contact:

Re: Set DSMPlugin in source code

Post by UltraSam »

There's an easy way to do this.

First you could put the complete command line in a batch file and execute it:
vncviewer host -dsmplugin msrc4plugin-122.dsm etc...

If you really want to hard code the use of the plugin:
1. Look for this code in vncoptions.cpp

***
else if ( SwitchMatch(args[j], _T("dsmplugin") ))
{
if (++j == i)
{
ArgError(sz_D27);
continue;
}
m_fUseDSMPlugin = true;
strcpy(m_szDSMPluginFilename, args[j]);
***

cancel it and write something like this instead
(replace with the plugin name you prefer...):

***
m_fUseDSMPlugin = true;
strcpy(m_szDSMPluginFilename, "msrc4plugin-122.dsm");
***


2. Generate a rc4.key file and copy it on both sides.
It's not mandatory: if no keyfile => a hash of the VNC password is used as the encryption key by the plugin.


3. Copy your recompiled viewer, the plugin file and the optional key file in the same directory


4. Run the viewer

'hope this helps.
UltraSam
bevtech
800
800
Posts: 2168
Joined: 2005-08-03 14:07
Location: Pennsylvania, United States

Re: Set DSMPlugin in source code

Post by bevtech »

You might want to contact user scovel for this information. He is really quite busy right now and my take some time to get back to you..:)
Bevtech

Windows XP Home, Pro SP2, Windows 2003 SBS server SP2(EN), Windows Media Center Editon 2005,Windows Vista Home Prem.,Fedora Core 6,Win9X, PChelpware Rel 1.0,
UVNC V 1.0.8.2

User not developer..;)
Post Reply