hi,
How do you gracefull shutdown the server (winvnc.exe) from an other application?
I would like to start/kill the server as an user-process from my own application.
Is there a way to kill the server by a special command/message (postmessage) or commandline argument?
Update: UltraVNC 1.4.3.6 and UltraVNC SC 1.4.3.6: https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37885
Important: Please update to latest version before to create a reply, a topic or an issue: https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37864
Join us on social networks and share our announcements:
- Website: https://uvnc.com/
- GitHub: https://github.com/ultravnc
- Mastodon: https://mastodon.social/@ultravnc
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ultravnc1
- X/Twitter: https://x.com/ultravnc1
- Reddit community: https://www.reddit.com/r/ultravnc
- OpenHub: https://openhub.net/p/ultravnc
Important: Please update to latest version before to create a reply, a topic or an issue: https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37864
Join us on social networks and share our announcements:
- Website: https://uvnc.com/
- GitHub: https://github.com/ultravnc
- Mastodon: https://mastodon.social/@ultravnc
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ultravnc1
- X/Twitter: https://x.com/ultravnc1
- Reddit community: https://www.reddit.com/r/ultravnc
- OpenHub: https://openhub.net/p/ultravnc
Terminate/Close/Shutdown/Kill Server by code
Re: Terminate/Close/Shutdown/Kill Server by code
You may use the DOS Cmd "Taskkill", like this:
Code: Select all
taskkill /F /IM winvnc.exe
Re: Terminate/Close/Shutdown/Kill Server by code
hi,
thanks for your response.
if there is no way for a gracefull dead, then i use the pskill tool.
http://www.microsoft.com/germany/techne ... skill.mspx
taskkill is only available for XP and above (?).
thanks for your response.
if there is no way for a gracefull dead, then i use the pskill tool.
http://www.microsoft.com/germany/techne ... skill.mspx
taskkill is only available for XP and above (?).
Re: Terminate/Close/Shutdown/Kill Server by code
hi,
i kill'em like this
Works fine.
i kill'em like this
Code: Select all
// try to kill softly
if (!postmessage (hWnd, WM_Close,0,0)) {
// try the big hammer
hProcess = OpenProcess (processId, TERMINATE | SYNCHRONIZE));
TerminateProcess (hProcess);
CloseHandle (hProcess);
}
- Rudi De Vos
- Admin & Developer
- Posts: 6863
- Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21
- Contact:
Re: Terminate/Close/Shutdown/Kill Server by code
winvnc.exe -kill
With the 104 RC , this work in application and service mode, at least when you are admin to run the winvnc.exe -kill.
Is it not working as you seems to look for another method ?
With the 104 RC , this work in application and service mode, at least when you are admin to run the winvnc.exe -kill.
Is it not working as you seems to look for another method ?
Re: Terminate/Close/Shutdown/Kill Server by code
Hi,
if you execute "winvnc.exe -kill " you get this messagebox
---------------------------
WinVNC Usage
---------------------------
winvnc [-run] [-autoreconnect[ ID:????]] [-connect host[:display]] [-connect host[::port]]
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
-kill is unknown!?
But i am using the VNC-Server from http://downloads.sourceforge.net/ultrav ... -Setup.exe
Is there any newer/older/special setup which contains a killable server?
if you execute "winvnc.exe -kill " you get this messagebox
---------------------------
WinVNC Usage
---------------------------
winvnc [-run] [-autoreconnect[ ID:????]] [-connect host[:display]] [-connect host[::port]]
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
-kill is unknown!?
But i am using the VNC-Server from http://downloads.sourceforge.net/ultrav ... -Setup.exe
Is there any newer/older/special setup which contains a killable server?
- Rudi De Vos
- Admin & Developer
- Posts: 6863
- Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21
- Contact:
Re: Terminate/Close/Shutdown/Kill Server by code
You need some later version was added in RC10 or RC11.
Latest exe can be found in
http://sc.uvnc.com/dev
Latest exe can be found in
http://sc.uvnc.com/dev
Re: Terminate/Close/Shutdown/Kill Server by code
hi,
thanks a lot.
Works fine.
thanks a lot.
Works fine.
-
- 8
- Posts: 26
- Joined: 2005-11-22 07:18
Re: Terminate/Close/Shutdown/Kill Server by code
But the command -kill will cause a memory-read-error!!!
Why this?
Why this?