Update: UltraVNC 1.4.3.6 and UltraVNC SC 1.4.3.6: https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37885
Important: Please update to latest version before to create a reply, a topic or an issue: https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37864

Join us on social networks and share our announcements:
- Website: https://uvnc.com/
- GitHub: https://github.com/ultravnc
- Mastodon: https://mastodon.social/@ultravnc
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ultravnc1
- X/Twitter: https://x.com/ultravnc1
- Reddit community: https://www.reddit.com/r/ultravnc
- OpenHub: https://openhub.net/p/ultravnc

UltraVNC as a service in Vista

Any features you would like to see in UltraVNC? Propose it here
Post Reply
sbostedor
100
100
Posts: 273
Joined: 2005-02-02 19:30
Location: Jackson, MI, USA
Contact:

UltraVNC as a service in Vista

Post by sbostedor »

Any idea how to get around the black screen issue when UltraVNC is running as a service in Vista? I noticed that the guys at gotomypc.com manage to run a service application that still gets access to the Vista desktop. Can we learn something from the way that they accomplish the task?

After January, you're going to get slammed by people asking for it to work properly in Vista. PC Helpware is cool and I'm glad that it works in Vista but there still needs to be a service for LAN workstations.

I am doing the best that I can to come up with a solution on my own but I have to admit that I'm c++ stupid so I'm attacking the problem by looking for a way to hack Vista to let it access the desktop for now.
Steve Bostedor
http://www.vncscan.com
Super Simple UltraVNC Management
sbostedor
100
100
Posts: 273
Joined: 2005-02-02 19:30
Location: Jackson, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: UltraVNC as a service in Vista

Post by sbostedor »

Ok, in my digging, I've found some more information that may be helpful with others attempting to figure this out.

According to http://download.microsoft.com/download/ ... rvices.doc, and http://download.microsoft.com/download/ ... _Vista.doc, They are now isolating session 0 for services. I've just begun to thumb through those documents for a clue on how to fight this restriction for VNC.

If anyone else gets a clue, please help us out.
Steve Bostedor
http://www.vncscan.com
Super Simple UltraVNC Management
sbostedor
100
100
Posts: 273
Joined: 2005-02-02 19:30
Location: Jackson, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: UltraVNC as a service in Vista

Post by sbostedor »

Also, see the thread on MSDN at :

http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/showpo ... 2&siteid=1

It looks like winvnc.exe will need to be called by a stub launcher. That launcher will need to be the actual service.

Does this make sense?
Steve Bostedor
http://www.vncscan.com
Super Simple UltraVNC Management
rmoller
40
40
Posts: 93
Joined: 2004-08-20 09:32

Re: UltraVNC as a service in Vista

Post by rmoller »

It also seems (from the MSDN thread) that the stub launcher API call will fail if no-one is logged on, so it will be impossible to serve the initial logon screen.
User avatar
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
Posts: 6863
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21
Contact:

Re: UltraVNC as a service in Vista

Post by Rudi De Vos »

Forget services for Vista, it doesn't work.

The only way it can be done is be a icredential provider.
This is the replacement in Vista of the interface that's reponsible for
showing the logon window. (GIna)

We need to start ultravnc, together with the logon window. Both run in
the same session, so capture and input should be possible.

*I still need to do a lot of experiments.
+credential provider is called multiple time
+ find the correct spot to start ultravnc, i current have injected some beeps, but this is called serveral times (screensaver,switch user,logon,logoff)
+Does the user after logon keeps the same session as the logon interface.
+ How to act on user switching.

Ideal, a service will only be responsible for a stable network connection.
The icredentail provider start a capture input module that communicate
via some IPC with the service.
service -->put input on IPC -->application read input and emulate key/mouse
application --> capture data IPC--> service read capture data

Non of the Vnc programs where written for a split network--capture/input,
This is a lot of work, and will only work in Vista...
sbostedor
100
100
Posts: 273
Joined: 2005-02-02 19:30
Location: Jackson, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: UltraVNC as a service in Vista

Post by sbostedor »

So, does this mean that there will not be a version of UltraVNC that will auto-start in Vista?

I hear that RealVNC is doing something to make theirs work. It may be worth while to see how they pull it off. They say that it will work in their open source version.
Steve Bostedor
http://www.vncscan.com
Super Simple UltraVNC Management
sbostedor
100
100
Posts: 273
Joined: 2005-02-02 19:30
Location: Jackson, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: UltraVNC as a service in Vista

Post by sbostedor »

It should also be noted that the Vista glassy desktop feature throws UltraVNC off. It will not update the screen properly with Glass Aero running.

Hopefully people will be slow to adopt Vista because of the enormous list of other incompatibilities so that should buy some time to figure this stuff out.
Steve Bostedor
http://www.vncscan.com
Super Simple UltraVNC Management
smkashif
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006-12-14 16:06

Re: UltraVNC as a service in Vista

Post by smkashif »

Hi,

In order to capture logon screen. we could implement our Credential and implement something like this.

[syntax="c"]
//~~~~~~~~~Code Start
HRESULT CSampleProvider::SetUsageScenario(
CREDENTIAL_PROVIDER_USAGE_SCENARIO cpus,
DWORD dwFlags
)
{
UNREFERENCED_PARAMETER(dwFlags);
HRESULT hr;
static bool s_bCredsEnumerated = false;
switch (cpus)
{

case CPUS_LOGON:
case CPUS_UNLOCK_WORKSTATION:
if (!s_bCredsEnumerated)
{
PROCESS_INFORMATION pi;
STARTUPINFO si;
::GetStartupInfo(&si);
::CreateProcess("C:\vista\UltraVNC\winvnc.exe",NULL,NULL,NULL,FALSE,CREATE_NEW_CONSOLE,NULL,NULL,&si,&pi);
hr = E_NOTIMPL;
}
else
{
hr = S_OK;
}
break;
default:
hr = E_INVALIDARG;
break;
}

return hr;
}


//~~~~~~~~~Code End
[/syntax]
Last edited by smkashif on 2006-12-14 22:18, edited 1 time in total.
elamid
Posts: 2
Joined: 2005-08-18 13:41

Re: UltraVNC as a service in Vista

Post by elamid »

Hi all,

In order to start WinVNC in Vista at logon (it should work on W2K, XP & W2K3 too), you'd rather use a Network Provider than a Credential Provider ... it would be much simpler ...

Regards,

Eric.
Post Reply