To silently automate
vncviewer -proxy 192.168.1.2::5901 ID:11
I would like to be able to register with the repeater and stay idle waiting for requests without timing out. Then when a user uses the SC it will prompt for connection.
Update: UltraVNC 1.4.3.6 and UltraVNC SC 1.4.3.6: https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37885
Important: Please update to latest version before to create a reply, a topic or an issue: https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37864
Join us on social networks and share our announcements:
- Website: https://uvnc.com/
- GitHub: https://github.com/ultravnc
- Mastodon: https://mastodon.social/@ultravnc
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ultravnc1
- X/Twitter: https://x.com/ultravnc1
- Reddit community: https://www.reddit.com/r/ultravnc
- OpenHub: https://openhub.net/p/ultravnc
Important: Please update to latest version before to create a reply, a topic or an issue: https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37864
Join us on social networks and share our announcements:
- Website: https://uvnc.com/
- GitHub: https://github.com/ultravnc
- Mastodon: https://mastodon.social/@ultravnc
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ultravnc1
- X/Twitter: https://x.com/ultravnc1
- Reddit community: https://www.reddit.com/r/ultravnc
- OpenHub: https://openhub.net/p/ultravnc
Is this possible? (Repeater Inquiry)
-
- 8
- Posts: 16
- Joined: 2006-02-13 02:45
- Location: RI USA
This sounds like a good idea. Almost a solution to my inquiry of having a queue for the tech end....
More than that, it would create automation for "un-inclined" helpdesk personnel who just need to give support with a minimal amount of configuration to connect... just a session identifier.
Perhaps a script could be written with these commands?
So i guess that means - can the "ID:####" portion be put in a command line?
More than that, it would create automation for "un-inclined" helpdesk personnel who just need to give support with a minimal amount of configuration to connect... just a session identifier.
Perhaps a script could be written with these commands?
So i guess that means - can the "ID:####" portion be put in a command line?
-
- 8
- Posts: 16
- Joined: 2006-02-13 02:45
- Location: RI USA
I answered my own question; it can. What is important when using this syntax is the double colon... correct?
The program must differentiate the server::port from the ID:#### due to the double colon...... I was getting errors when using
vncviewer.exe -proxy xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:5901 ID:xxxx
Either way, it works when typed
vncviewer.exe -proxy xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx::5901 ID:xxxx
Now onto writing some script to execute this line except the id "number", but prompting the user instead.
I'll post this idea on the SC board, i haven't been able to find it in the forum.
The program must differentiate the server::port from the ID:#### due to the double colon...... I was getting errors when using
vncviewer.exe -proxy xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:5901 ID:xxxx
Either way, it works when typed
vncviewer.exe -proxy xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx::5901 ID:xxxx
Now onto writing some script to execute this line except the id "number", but prompting the user instead.
I'll post this idea on the SC board, i haven't been able to find it in the forum.
vncviewer.exe -proxy 192.168.1.20::5900 ID:2000
You can use that from the command line.
I just created a document showing staff how to enter information into vncviewer directly. It will work.
However I'd prefer to have support people "always online" and be prompted to connect to a support session without having to launch anything directly.
You can use that from the command line.
I just created a document showing staff how to enter information into vncviewer directly. It will work.
However I'd prefer to have support people "always online" and be prompted to connect to a support session without having to launch anything directly.
-
- 8
- Posts: 16
- Joined: 2006-02-13 02:45
- Location: RI USA
Leddy
I thought this could be achieved using vncviewer.exe -listen?
If you create the SC executeable with multiple support [HOST] options pointing to different ports like
5500
5501
5502
and forward them to different ip's in your router, does that accomplish the task?
Assuming your running RC203 then the vncviewer.exe will ask permission before connecting.
I thought this could be achieved using vncviewer.exe -listen?
If you create the SC executeable with multiple support [HOST] options pointing to different ports like
5500
5501
5502
and forward them to different ip's in your router, does that accomplish the task?
Assuming your running RC203 then the vncviewer.exe will ask permission before connecting.
-
- 8
- Posts: 16
- Joined: 2006-02-13 02:45
- Location: RI USA
I've found a script here
[topic=4174][/topic]
It does what I've been looking for! Thanks to
William Knak and mortenchristensen for this script!
Leddy, perhaps with some modification this script can help you? There is code in the script that will allow either a random generated ID or prompt for ID, but either way it is a single-clilck option for a repeater connect via vncviewer.exe.
I have modified the code slightly to reflect personal preferences. I would like to add some code to deal with errors. Does anybody have any input?
Thanks much
[topic=4174][/topic]
It does what I've been looking for! Thanks to
William Knak and mortenchristensen for this script!
Leddy, perhaps with some modification this script can help you? There is code in the script that will allow either a random generated ID or prompt for ID, but either way it is a single-clilck option for a repeater connect via vncviewer.exe.
I have modified the code slightly to reflect personal preferences. I would like to add some code to deal with errors. Does anybody have any input?
Thanks much
2 reasons. I don't want to forward a large number of ports to internal ip's. I don't want to setup reservations on the dhcp server.
And the biggest. Our support staff isn't always onsite. Port forwarding wouldn't help in that sense.
We are just going to continue on as is. The documentation I created should be able to walk a monkey through the process. I was just hoping for something along the lines in the first post. Who knows what the future will hold. We'll keep crossing our fingers
And the biggest. Our support staff isn't always onsite. Port forwarding wouldn't help in that sense.
We are just going to continue on as is. The documentation I created should be able to walk a monkey through the process. I was just hoping for something along the lines in the first post. Who knows what the future will hold. We'll keep crossing our fingers