view only, keyboard locked, no mouse control

Find help for Frequently Asked Questions here - please look here first before posting an already answered question.

view only, keyboard locked, no mouse control

Postby redge » 2009-12-18 23:08

view only, keyboard locked, no mouse control

0) if you have dual screen or more
even if you have only single screen attached to graphic card have 2 display port
use uvnc 1.0.9.5 all are signed or above if available.

1)ultravnc server 1.0.8.0 and above.
Image

You have set the same password for full and view only access.


2)any ultravnc server version... admin properties
Image

You have checked [v] "Disable viewers inputs"

3) Server 1.0.8.2 is running as application on a Vista or WIN7 and you have an elevated "system" window open. To access "system" windows winvnc
need to be running as service.

4) ultravnc viewer (vncviewer) any version.
--Display--
[ ] View only (inputs ignored)
ultra vncviewer
Delete saved settings... close vncviewer... open vncviewer


if exist ... options.vnc or any name like filename.vnc file used by ultra vncviewer
viewonly=0 <-- input allowed (default)
viewonly=1 <-- keyboard input disabled


last solution, if all above solutions failed.
5. On controlled computer, Uninstall old ultravnc.... reboot... delete ultravnc folder
install new ultravnc

part 1 to 3 Rudi solutions
part 4 and 5 redge
Last edited by redge on 2010-11-30 23:42, edited 4 times in total.
UltraVNC 1.0.9.6.1 (built 20110518)
OS Win: xp home + vista business + 7 home
only experienced user, not developer
redge
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 6815
Joined: 2004-07-03 17:05
Location: Switzerland - Geneva

Re: view only, keyboard locked, no mouse control

Postby girardd » 2011-12-21 19:00

Yesterday I installed 1.0.9.6.1 on a server at a remote location. I tested access from a PC on the local lan and it seemed to work fine. I thought I had set the admin & view passwords to different PWDS, but now when I access it remotely I can see it, but not do anything. (Send CAD does nothing)

I _can_ access the machine via computer management from another system (Map a drive, access services...) So I can START/STOP/RESTART UVNC. I can also access the ini file which does have two different encrypted password stings. I could of course change anything else in the ini as well. The strings are of different length, which implies that I was successful; however, when I connect, it sure acts as if its connecting in VIEWERONLY mode.

Given this degree of access, are there changes I can make in the INI that would allow me to restart the service, access the console and then secure it properly with a new password -WITHOUT- having to make a trip to the remote location? [Erase password string(s) & restart service?]

Thanks

-----------
[Permissions]
[admin]
UseRegistry=0
MSLogonRequired=0
NewMSLogon=0
DebugMode=0
Avilog=0
path=C:\Program Files\UltraVNC
DebugLevel=0
DisableTrayIcon=0
LoopbackOnly=0
UseDSMPlugin=0
AllowLoopback=0
AuthRequired=1
ConnectPriority=1
DSMPlugin=
AuthHosts=
AllowShutdown=1
AllowProperties=1
AllowEditClients=1
FileTransferEnabled=1
FTUserImpersonation=1
BlankMonitorEnabled=1
DefaultScale=1
CaptureAlphaBlending=0
BlackAlphaBlending=0
primary=1
secundary=0
SocketConnect=1
HTTPConnect=1
XDMCPConnect=0
AutoPortSelect=1
PortNumber=0
HTTPPortNumber=0
IdleTimeout=0
RemoveWallpaper=1
RemoveAero=1
QuerySetting=2
QueryTimeout=10
QueryAccept=0
QueryIfNoLogon=0
InputsEnabled=1
LockSetting=0
LocalInputsDisabled=0
EnableJapInput=1
DSMPluginConfig=
BlankInputsOnly=0
secondary=0
kickrdp=0
clearconsole=0
[admin_auth]
group1=
group2=
group3=
locdom1=0
locdom2=0
locdom3=0
[ultravnc]
passwd=encryptedstring_1
passwd2=encryptedstring_2
[poll]
TurboMode=0
PollUnderCursor=0
PollForeground=0
PollFullScreen=0
OnlyPollConsole=0
OnlyPollOnEvent=0
EnableDriver=0
EnableHook=0
EnableVirtual=0
SingleWindow=0
SingleWindowName=
MaxCpu=40
girardd
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2011-12-21 16:17

Re: view only, keyboard locked, no mouse control

Postby B » 2011-12-21 19:47

At least one person found that disabling LOCAL inputs helped things. So you could try toggling that line.

See also older related threads at

http://forum.ultravnc.info/viewtopic.php?t=16775

http://forum.ultravnc.info/viewtopic.php?t=16801
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: view only, keyboard locked, no mouse control

Postby girardd » 2011-12-21 22:25

Neither of these makes a difference. I changed password 2 to other gibberish to rule an identical password out. I also tried making password1 blank and that did not help.

I can click on ease of access icon on the windows login screen, get the dialogue box and make selections. I can also access all the UVNC buttons at the top. I just can't get it to send a CAD.

Any other suggestions?
girardd
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2011-12-21 16:17

Re: view only, keyboard locked, no mouse control

Postby B » 2011-12-21 22:34

Well hold on there! So you don't have a "view only" problem at all! *

You have a Ctrl-Alt-Del problem.

That's an entirely different set of FAQs to review --


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27079

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17160

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16018



* (because you were able to control Ease of Access on the remote system)
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: view only, keyboard locked, no mouse control

Postby armenzg » 2013-04-16 20:50

I have the same situation but I don't know how to fix it.
I have submitted a question on the "general help" forum but it does not show up yet.

I don't understand what the Ctrl-Alt-Del is involved in here.

girardd, what did you end up doing? Thanks!
armenzg
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-04-04 14:12

Re: view only, keyboard locked, no mouse control

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2013-04-17 08:23

1) view only / full password are the same -> no access
2) Server was started as user ( not runas admin) , and you have an application with
UAC open. Input is blocked as long as the system (UAC) application is open.
Service is required to be able to access UAC.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5060
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: view only, keyboard locked, no mouse control

Postby armenzg » 2013-04-17 17:25

I figured this out.
When we updated our passwords we had both passwords being the same.

I fixed it like this:
* run cmd as Administrator
** cd C:\Program Files\UltraVNC
** winvnc.exe -stopservice
** del ultravnc.ini
** wget http://from_private_location
armenzg
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-04-04 14:12


Return to FAQ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest