Flashing Remote Blank Monitor

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.

Flashing Remote Blank Monitor

Postby mikemossel » 2020-04-19 07:09

Hello,
I am using 1.2.4.0 UltraVNC server and viewer on windows 10 environment.
When the viewer has connected to the server it works fine.
Now I want to blank the screen on the server.
So i click on the blue toolbar button "Toggle Remote Input and Remote Blank Monitor" so it becomes black.
But the screen on the server does not remain black: it keeps flashing up.
Please help?
mikemossel
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020-04-19 06:58

Re: Flashing Remote Blank Monitor

Postby JDaus » 2020-05-04 04:59

Does this happen on multiple machines ? or just one ?

have you tried installing the mirror driver on that machine ?
ask a silly question and remain a fool for 5 minutes...
don't ask, and remain a fool for life - JDaus 2003

without imperfections, neither you nor i would exist - Steven Hawkins
__
JD
SCPrompt - OpenSource Free Remote Screen\Desktop Sharing Solution
SecureTech.com.au
User avatar
JDaus
Friend of UVNC
Friend of UVNC
 
Posts: 537
Joined: 2007-03-17 11:00
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Flashing Remote Blank Monitor

Postby mikemossel » 2020-05-04 09:04

Thanks for your reply!
This happens on multiple machines.
I have not tried the mirror driver on those machines (they can not be visited).
mikemossel
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020-04-19 06:58

Re: Flashing Remote Blank Monitor

Postby JDaus » 2020-05-04 23:09

mikemossel wrote:I have not tried the mirror driver on those machines (they can not be visited).

It may very well be a bug, but if you could try installing the mirror driver (can be done remotely) and give that a test, it may be worth your while.
ask a silly question and remain a fool for 5 minutes...
don't ask, and remain a fool for life - JDaus 2003

without imperfections, neither you nor i would exist - Steven Hawkins
__
JD
SCPrompt - OpenSource Free Remote Screen\Desktop Sharing Solution
SecureTech.com.au
User avatar
JDaus
Friend of UVNC
Friend of UVNC
 
Posts: 537
Joined: 2007-03-17 11:00
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Flashing Remote Blank Monitor

Postby mikemossel » 2020-05-08 07:59

Hello JDaus,
Thanks for your reply and suggestion to install the mirrordriver.
I have installed this mirror driver on the remote machine and restarted the machine.
Unfortunately, the problem does not disappear.
As mentioned in my first post, the remote screen does turn black, remote input is blocked, but when I move the mous or use the keyboard on my viewer machine, the black screen flashes up shortly with every mouse move or key click.
mikemossel
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020-04-19 06:58

Re: Flashing Remote Blank Monitor

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2020-05-09 08:51

On windwows 10, you don't have layers, so placing a black screen on top like ( win7<=) doesn't work.
What we do is to tell the monitor to go a sleep. But depending on the powermanager, moving the mouse keyboard awake the monitor.
Depending on the monitor you get this effect.
The flash = putting /awaking the monitor sleep mode.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Flashing Remote Blank Monitor

Postby mikemossel » 2020-05-09 09:21

Hi Rudy,
Thanks for the eplanation! Good explanation, thanks!
mikemossel
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020-04-19 06:58


Return to General help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests