invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.

invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby WeDontNeedRoads » 2018-12-28 14:46

I am running UltraVNC 1.2.2.3, not installed just from cmd.exe in Windows RE/PE 10.0.17763.1 . It works, but for some reason, all of the command prompt windows do not show up in the viewer. I can type in them if I know they are focused, but nothing appears. I am running the 64 bit version of the server, PE has no 32-bit subsystem.

Any thoughts on settings I can tweak so the cmd window is visible?

Below:
left: virtual machine booted into WinPE running winvnc.exe
right: vncviewer into that machine

it just doesn't draw the cmd window. :-?

Image
WeDontNeedRoads
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-12-28 14:28

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2019-01-01 13:54

Winpe 10 act as win7 non earo mode but announce himself as WIN8.
Fix for next update,
pre-release (64bit winvnc with pe detection)
https://www.uvnc.eu/download/1224/winvnc_WINPE.zip

Happy New Year
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby WeDontNeedRoads » 2019-01-02 16:38

Excellent! That fixed the issue. Thank you very much.
WeDontNeedRoads
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-12-28 14:28

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby JSmith » 2019-02-11 15:43

Hi Rudi,

Do you know when the next release will be? I use both x86 and x64 WinPE versions and will need both flavors to deploy before we can do 1809. :)

Thanks!
JSmith
8
8
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2011-01-04 16:22

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2019-02-12 21:23

Changes are already in the last 1.2.24 pre-release.
32/64 bin/installer
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby JSmith » 2019-02-13 14:01

Thanks!
JSmith
8
8
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2011-01-04 16:22

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby morten_leth » 2019-03-15 13:50

Hi Guys

I too am using this, and i am experiencing similar behaviour.
My Windows PE is 1809, latest version, 10.0.17763.1, everything works as it should, i simply do not see any cmd.exe's running on the client.

I downloaded the client from this URL:
http://www.uvnc.com/component/jdownload ... tup/0.html

Is the fix in this release, or should i have another one downloaded?

Kind Regards
Morten Leth Hedegaard
morten_leth
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-03-15 13:43

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2019-03-15 15:18

Normal is should be in it it was commited a time ago.
Isn't it working ?
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 6108
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby morten_leth » 2019-03-19 09:08

I was just a tad too quick to reply guys, sorry for that.
I didn't update the vncviewer.exe - after i did everything worked as expected.

Thanks for the reply though, and again sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards
Morten Leth Hedegaard
morten_leth
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-03-15 13:43

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby zdronz » 2020-02-14 11:43

Hello,

I have tried 1.2.2.4 and 1.2.3.0 with WinPE 10.0.18362.1 and no success, no cmd visible. :(

Maybe some customized settings should set? Could you please share your ini file?

Thank you in advance!
zdronz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2020-02-14 11:40

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby Mad Butcher » 2020-07-09 10:36

Hello,
I have this issue too.
My WinPE version is 10.0.19041.0 (latest) and I tried uVNC 1.2.4.0 and 1.2.5.1RC. Environment is 64-bits.
I looked at sources and I see "patch" for WinPE in vncOSVersion.cpp:
if (OS_LAYER_ON == true && OS_AERO_ON == false) return true; //WINPE

So this should work, but actually it is not.
Neither cmd nor powershell are visible in the viewer.
I spent some time playing with settings at the Screen Capture tab, but without any improvements.

I join to the zdronz's question, maybe a special setting in the ultravnc.ini is required?

P.S.
I understand that Rudy is now struggling with "NAT", and he has no time, but I think that no one except him can help us)
Mad Butcher
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-07-09 07:52

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby a0918592302 » 2020-07-31 09:47

Dear All,

I have the same issue with latest Winpe version 10.0.19041.0, any one can help?
Already tried UltraVNC version 1.2.4.0 /1.2.5.1, still got the same issue.
Dose any one can help to resolve or advice how to fix invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10?
Thanks a lot!
a0918592302
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2020-07-31 09:42

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby Mad Butcher » 2020-08-03 13:15

It's look here's only one workaround - use previous WinPE.
I checked WinPE from ADK from 1803 to 1903 (1909 has not been released), uvnc work fine on all of then except WinPE from 2004 ADK.
Extracted boot.wim from 2004 RTM releases also don't work with uvnc.

P.S.
Rudi, you are us only hope)
Mad Butcher
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-07-09 07:52

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby vphilne » 2020-08-04 09:44

Hi,

After long long long test..... i have find the problem.

It's due to the legacy console (disabled by default)
You just need to re-enable the legacy console.

Just change the DWORD value of "HKCU\Console\ForceV2" from "1" to "0"

Or just add this line in your startnet.cmd
REG ADD HKCU\Console /v ForceV2 /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f

Regards
vphilne
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2020-08-04 09:35

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby Mad Butcher » 2020-08-06 10:11

Yeah, that's another workaround but no one want to see the legacy console)
Also problem is little more widely there not only invisible console window but also some WPF applications do not shown correctly(
Mad Butcher
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2020-07-09 07:52

Re: invisible cmd.exe in WinPE 10

Postby pafa » 2020-08-31 05:14

We have the same problem.

Running the latest WinPE boot image (19041), and the latest UltraVNC, both viewer and client, but the command prompt (or powershell shell) is not visible

Could be fantastic with a fix for this problem (not a workaround)
pafa
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2020-08-28 05:44


Return to General help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests