Server ask "Add Client" (host) if internet is down!

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.

Server ask "Add Client" (host) if internet is down

Postby oscar82 » 2009-09-09 11:05

Hi to all,
i have a server in silent mode(last version) with Vista and a pc (Vista) with client in listening mode... it works fine and in stealt mode.
If i turn on the pc server but this is not in internet, at windows logon, a form with "Initiate Outgoing connection" appears! It ask Host IP... like if it doesn't read the hostname (static with dyndns.org) from the ultravnc.ini!!
I would that the form doesn't appear if pc server is not in internet!!
Please help me and excuse me for bad english! :P
oscar82
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-09-09 10:44

Re: Server ask "Add Client" (host) if internet is

Postby Rudi De Vos » 2009-09-09 11:18

sc try to resolve the name to an ip address.
In case of an error ( hostname doesn't exist) it prompt to enter the ip address.

If you are not connected to the internet, but your hostname is only known via a dyndns service the name is unknown.... and sc ask the
correct hostname.

That's the way it was made.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
 
Posts: 5878
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21

Re: Server ask "Add Client" (host) if internet is

Postby oscar82 » 2009-09-09 12:13

Hi, tnx for reply...
i think that a silent server is a "silent server" so it must not ask anything... for me this is a bug of new version... in fact 1.05 works fine now
Last edited by oscar82 on 2009-09-09 12:14, edited 1 time in total.
oscar82
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-09-09 10:44

Re: Server ask "Add Client" (host) if internet is

Postby YY » 2009-09-09 17:53

Rudi De Vos wrote:sc try to resolve the name to an ip address.
In case of an error ( hostname doesn't exist) it prompt to enter the ip address.
This problem is not only limited to the SC operation (-sc_exit & -sc_prompt), but in fact the winvnc.exe is now running in this way, i.e. In case of an error ( hostname doesn't exist) it prompt to enter the ip address.
(but this is not the truth of all facts, see below)

Rudi, I can recall when the winvnc.exe is modified in this way, this happened when JDaus requesting you to add a command option to bring up "Initiate Outgoing Connection" windows ......
(See (confirmed) problems with cmdline "-connect -run" options !)


But this is really a bad idea to craft the winvnc.exe like the current version. Look at these situation when UVNC connecting to a Unknow_Host:

1. When UVNC service is running, and use "Add New Client" to connect to a unknow host:
  Image


2. When UVNC service is running, and run the command: winvnc.exe -connect Unknow_Host:5500
  The command will terminate & vanish w/o any message.


3. When UVNC service is running, and inside ultravnc.ini having "service_commandline=-connect Unknow_Host:5500"
  When Windows is started, the UVNC popup the "Initiate Outgoing Connection", (and expect the user to input the IP !?)
Image


So you see the problem: doing the same job with 3 different methods, we got 3 different response. Enough confused?

For me, I consider the first case is the most logical and reasonable response, and I do like to see the other two cases will return this message.

I don't mean the response of 2nd & 3rd situation are totally no good, but if I was just allowed to select one, I choice is the 1st reaction: popup a window of an message "Fail to connect to Viewer/Repeater"

It wil be perfect if this response can be configurable by user. A method is to add a new parameter in the ultravnc.ini (say: Fail_Connect_Action), such that:
Fail_Connect_Action=0 (no action taken, like the above-mentioned 2nd case, silent mode)

Fail_Connect_Action=1 (pop up the "Fail to connect to Viewer/Repeater" message"

Fail_Connect_Action=2 (pop up the "Initiate Outgoing Connection", so that user can input IP directly)



Then how about the JDaus' request?
I think the best solution is to add a new option for bringing up the "Initiate Outgoing Connection" window (e.g, using the name: -asking_host), so we will have the commands:
winvnc.exe -asking_host (where uvnc_service is already running), or

winvnc.exe -asking_host -run (start in application mode), or etc....
Last edited by YY on 2011-05-19 04:44, edited 3 times in total.
YY
200
200
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 2006-11-13 15:11

Re: Server ask "Add Client" (host) if internet is

Postby klezzz » 2009-11-03 16:57

Yes this is should be modified in winvnc. If theres no internet connection on server machine with (-connect *.com) why is it trying to resolve host names? Just wait for connection, why popup for new address?
What if no static ip available on listening viewer?
klezzz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2009-11-03 16:01


Return to General help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron